9 Books About Mental Illness To Read in 2019

Mental health is crucial to for our overall health. It is impossible to focus just on one. Both mental and physical come together. If one is affected other will show one or more symptom for sure. Physical health is something you can talk to people about. But mental health you always try to hide. World is changing but mental health is still a taboo. But talking openly about mental health in books has seen an increase as the category of books has grown.

Here is a list of books about mental health. These books are about addiction, eating disorders, depression, schizophrenia, and more, as experienced by the teen main characters.

1. The Goldfish Boy

goldfish| homeopathy recovery
BUY ON AMAZON

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour’s toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy’s disappearance – with the help of a brilliant cast of supporting characters. Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry. You can buy its kindle edition or paper back on Amazon.

 

 

 

 

2. All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places| Homeopathy recovery
BUY ON AMAZON

If a book like ‘The fault in your stars’ fills your empty moments, then this could be your next read. Theodore Finch meets Violet Markey, who has bright hopes from future and is waiting her graduation days to end, while her aching heart struggles to overcome the grief of her sister’s death. Story takes a quick leap with their encounter on the ledge of the bell tower at school, which leave a vague notion as who saves whom.

“It is a story that deals with depression, bereavement, and relationships. It was so beautiful. Honestly, the ending completely brought me to tears, but it is definitely something I would read again.” This book is available on Amazon India.

 

 

 

 

3. Everything, Everything 

 Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
BUY ON AMAZON

It deals with more of the struggles of physical illness at first, but then has surprising characters with mental illnesses that just pull it all together perfectly. A girl who had never left the house and her mother, all alone. Truly my favorite book of all time.

Maddy is allergic to the world; stepping outside the sterile sanctuary of her home could kill her. But then Olly moves in next door. And just like that, Maddy realizes there’s more to life than just being alive. You only get one chance at first love. And Maddy is ready to risk everything, everything to see where it leads. There is a movie on this “Everything, Everything starring Amandla Stenberg and Nick Robinson”.

 

 

 

4. Thirteen Reasons Why

Thirteen Reasons Why Paperback – 6 Aug 2009
BUY ON AMAZON

Thirteen reasons why is a moving story of Hannah Baker who commits suicide at a very young age and records the thirteen reasons why she committed suicide on an audio tape.

I recommend this book to everybody. It’s about feeling suicidal and it was the first book I read in which the author really seemed to understand what it’s like to feel that depressed, that hopeless, that out of control, and to see no other way out of your misery except through death. It also emphasized that it wasn’t just ONE thing that made the female main character suicidal.

 

 

 

 

5. Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey
BUY ON AMAZON

It’s about a 14-year-old girl who suffers from social anxiety as a result of being bullied. Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles into her life. With his friendly, orange-slice smile and his funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey out again – well, Starbucks is a start. And with Linus at her side, Audrey feels like she can do the things she’d thought were too scary. Suddenly, finding her way back to the real world seems achievable. Funny, witty, and heartwarming — and well-researched at the same time.

 

 

 

 

 

6. Made You Up

Made You Up
BUY ON AMAZON

For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior-and the ultimate unreliable narrator-unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion.Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him?Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.Can she trust herself? Can we trust her?

 

 

7.  The Impossible Knife Of Memory

 

The impossible knife of memory
BUY ON AMAZON

For the past five years, Hayley Kincaid and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. The Impossible Knife of Memory is Laurie Halse Anderson at her finest: compelling, surprising, and impossible to put down.”It focuses on how a family member’s mental illness can affect their lives and offers a different perspective on mental illness in daily lives.”

 

 

 

 

8. Paperweight

Paperweight by Meg Haston
BUY ON AMAZON

Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. In her body. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert. Her dad has signed her up for sixty days of treatment. But what no one knows is that Stevie doesn’t plan to stay that long. And if Stevie gets her way, there are only twenty-seven days until she, too, will end her life. Paperweight follows seventeen-year-old Stevie’s journey as she struggles not only with a life-threatening eating disorder, but with the question of whether she can ever find absolution for the mistakes of her past and whether she truly deserves to.

 

 

 

 

9. OCD Love Story

OCD Love Story
BUY ON AMAZON

Haydu’s YA novel is about Bea, a young girl juggling some crushes who also has Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. It isn’t a light or easy read, but it gets to the darkest corners of OCD — the panic attacks, the mania, the shame — and gives depth to the character living with it.

 

 

 

 

 

Descriptions pulled from Goodreads.

Avatar

homeopathyrecovery

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment